Studies & Bills

Orders of Reference

An order of reference is a decision of the Senate authorizing a committee to undertake the study of an issue, bill or other matter. Most committees require an order of reference before they can undertake such work. However, three committees are empowered by the Rules of the Senate to act on their own initiative without a prior order of reference from the Senate. These are the Committee on Rules, Procedures and the Rights of Parliament; the Committee on Internal Economy, Budgets and Administration; and the Committee on Ethics and Conflict of Interest for Senators.

Studies & Bills Order of Reference Session  note  note
Examine the Auditor General of Canada’s audit oversight recommendations
2017-09-21
Wednesday, October 25, 2017 at 11:33 AM
  • Andrew Newman, Partner, Audit Leader, Public Sector Audit (KPMG)
Wednesday, October 18, 2017 at 11:35 AM
Wednesday, October 4, 2017 at 11:40 AM
Wednesday, September 27, 2017 at 11:35 AM
Study the issue of living expenses while in Ottawa, including the current practices and possible replacement models that considers fairness, equity, responsible use of resources
2017-02-02
Wednesday, March 8, 2017 at 11:05 AM
Wednesday, March 1, 2017 at 11:07 AM
Wednesday, February 15, 2017 at 11:03 AM
Approve funding for the Independent Senators Group for the current fiscal year and for the fiscal year 2017-18
2016-12-08
Monday, December 12, 2016 at 3:36 PM
Pursuant to rule 12-7(1), consideration of financial and administrative matters
2016-04-29
Tuesday, April 24, 2018 at 4:32 PM
Wednesday, March 28, 2018 at 2:30 PM
Tuesday, December 12, 2017 at 2:20 PM
Tuesday, December 5, 2017 at 2:15 PM
Thursday, November 30, 2017 at 1:05 PM
Tuesday, October 31, 2017 at 8:04 AM
Monday, October 30, 2017 at 4:08 PM
Wednesday, October 25, 2017 at 11:33 AM
  • Andrew Newman, Partner, Audit Leader, Public Sector Audit (KPMG)
Monday, November 28, 2016 at 5:07 PM
Wednesday, November 23, 2016 at 6:09 PM
Wednesday, November 16, 2016 at 4:18 PM
Monday, November 14, 2016 at 1:06 PM
Tuesday, May 10, 2016 at 12:45 PM
Thursday, May 5, 2016 at 12:49 PM
  • The Honourable Senator Elaine McCoy, Senator (The Senate of Canada)
Wednesday, May 4, 2016 at 6:33 PM
  • The Honourable Senator Peter Harder, P.C., Government Representative in the Senate (The Senate of Canada)
  • Charles Robert, Clerk of the Senate and Clerk of the Parliaments (The Senate of Canada)
Wednesday, May 4, 2016 at 12:45 PM
  • The Honourable Senator Claude Carignan, P.C., Leader of the Opposition (The Senate of Canada)
Tuesday, May 3, 2016 at 9:04 AM
  • The Honourable Senator James S. Cowan, Leader of the Senate Liberals (The Senate of Canada)
Legend
Audio Webcast
Audio Webcast
Video Webcast
Video Webcast
Meeting
Meeting
Minutes
Minutes
Transcripts
Transcripts
Interim
Interim
Meeting
Meeting
Witness
Witness