Studies & Bills

Orders of Reference

An order of reference is a decision of the Senate authorizing a committee to undertake the study of an issue, bill or other matter. Most committees require an order of reference before they can undertake such work. However, three committees are empowered by the Rules of the Senate to act on their own initiative without a prior order of reference from the Senate. These are the Committee on Rules, Procedures and the Rights of Parliament; the Committee on Internal Economy, Budgets and Administration; and the Committee on Ethics and Conflict of Interest for Senators.

Studies & Bills Order of Reference Session  note  note
Bill C-44, An Act for making the system of Canadian ports competitive, efficient and commercially oriented, providing for the establishment of port authorities and the divesting of certain harbours and ports, for the commercialization of the St. Lawrence Seaway and ferry services and other matters related to maritime trade and transport and amending the Pilotage Act and amending and repealing other Acts as a consequence
1997-04-22
Wednesday, April 23, 1997 at 3:27 PM
Tuesday, April 22, 1997 at 3:39 PM
Bill C-32, An Act to amend the Copyright Act
1997-04-10
Monday, April 21, 1997 at 9:09 AM
Thursday, April 17, 1997 at 9:40 AM
Wednesday, April 16, 1997 at 6:09 PM
Tuesday, April 15, 1997 at 3:33 PM
Tuesday, April 15, 1997 at 9:38 AM
Monday, April 14, 1997 at 3:35 PM
Bill C-57, An Act to amend the Bell Canada Act
1997-02-12
Tuesday, March 11, 1997 at 5:09 PM
Monday, February 17, 1997 at 5:11 PM
Bill C-216, An Act to amend the Broadcasting Act (broadcasting policy)
1996-12-03
Tuesday, February 11, 1997 at 4:59 PM
Thursday, December 12, 1996 at 12:01 PM
The state of transportation safety and security in Canada and to complete a comparative review of technical issues and legal and regulatory structures with a view to ensuring that transportation safety and security in Canada are of such high quality as to meet the needs of Canada and Canadians in the twenty-first century
1996-10-02
Bill C-20, An Act respecting the commercialization of civil air navigation services
1996-06-10
Tuesday, June 18, 1996 at 3:35 PM
Tuesday, June 11, 1996 at 3:30 PM
Bill S-7, An Act to dissolve the Nipissing and James Bay Railway Company
1996-05-09
Tuesday, May 14, 1996 at 5:23 PM
Canada's international competitive position in communications generally, including a review of the economic, social and cultural importance of communications for Canada
1996-05-01
Bill C-14, An Act to continue the National Transportation Agency, to consolidate and revise the National transportation Act, 1987 and the Railway Act and to amend or repeal other Acts as a consequence
1996-03-28
Tuesday, May 7, 1996 at 4:32 PM
Thursday, May 2, 1996 at 9:02 AM
Tuesday, April 30, 1996 at 4:34 PM
Thursday, April 25, 1996 at 9:01 AM
Tuesday, April 23, 1996 at 5:30 PM
Legend
Audio only
Audio only
Video
Video
Webcast
Webcast
Meeting notice
Meeting notice
Minutes
Minutes
Transcripts
Transcripts
Interim
Interim
Meeting
Meeting
Witness
Witness