Studies & Bills

Orders of Reference

An order of reference is a decision of the Senate authorizing a committee to undertake the study of an issue, bill or other matter. Most committees require an order of reference before they can undertake such work. However, three committees are empowered by the Rules of the Senate to act on their own initiative without a prior order of reference from the Senate. These are the Committee on Rules, Procedures and the Rights of Parliament; the Committee on Internal Economy, Budgets and Administration; and the Committee on Ethics and Conflict of Interest for Senators.

Studies & Bills Order of Reference Session  note  note
Study on the government’s response to the COVID-19 pandemic
2020-04-11 Show Briefs
Monday, June 29, 2020 at 11:35 AM
Friday, June 26, 2020 at 11:44 AM
  • The Honourable Patty Hajdu, P.C., M.P., Minister of Health (Health Canada)
  • Major-General Marc Bilodeau, Deputy Surgeon General / Director General of Clinical Services, Canadian Forces Health Services Group (Department of National Defence and the Canadian Armed Forces)
  • Brigadier-General Lise Bourgon, Director General, Operations, Canadian Joint Operations Command (Department of National Defence and the Canadian Armed Forces)
  • Stephen Lucas, Deputy Minister (Health Canada)
  • Dr. Siddika Mithani, President (Canadian Food Inspection Agency)
  • Tina Namiesniowski, President (Public Health Agency of Canada)
  • Dr. Michael Strong, President (Canadian Institutes of Health Research)
  • Dr. Theresa Tam, Chief Public Health Officer (Public Health Agency of Canada)
Wednesday, June 10, 2020 at 11:32 AM
  • Dr. Carole Estabrooks, Adjunct Professor, Faculty of Nursing, University of Alberta (As an Individual)
  • Jodi Hall, Chair (Canadian Association for Long Term Care)
  • Dr. Réjean Hébert, Professor and Geriatrician, School of Public Health, University of Montreal (As an Individual)
  • Marissa Lennox, Chief Policy Officer (Canadian Association of Retired Persons)
  • Laura Tamblyn Watts, President and Chief Executive Officer (CanAge)
  • Dr. Roger Wong, Clinical Professor of Geriatric Medicine, Department of Medicine, University of British Columbia (As an Individual)
Wednesday, June 3, 2020 at 11:30 AM
  • Sara L. Austin, Founder and CEO (Children First Canada)
  • Emily Gruenwoldt, President and CEO (Children's Healthcare Canada)
  • Katherine Hay, President and CEO (Kids Help Phone)
  • Kiah Heneke-Flindall, Youth Advisor (Children First Canada)
  • Kamil Kanji, Youth Advisor (Children First Canada)
  • Dr. Patrick McGrath, Chair of the Board (Strongest Families Institute)
  • Dr. Vicky Stergiopoulos, Physician-in-Chief (Centre for Addiction and Mental Health)
  • Dr. Georgina Zahirney, President (Canadian Psychiatric Association)
Wednesday, May 27, 2020 at 11:30 AM
  • Daniel Boyer, President (Fédération des travailleurs et travailleuses du Québec)
  • Jerry Dias, National President (Unifor)
  • Miranda Ferrier, President, Canadian Support Workers Association, Ontario Personal Support Workers Association (Canadian Support Workers Association)
  • Syed Hussan, Executive Director (Migrant Workers Alliance for Change)
  • Deena Ladd, Executive Director (Workers' Action Centre)
  • Jeff Wilkins, National President (Union of Canadian Correctional Officers)
Wednesday, May 20, 2020 at 11:32 AM
  • Dr. Claire Betker, President (Canadian Nurses Association)
  • Dr. Sandy Buchman, President (Canadian Medical Association)
  • Dr. Shelita Dattani, Director, Practice Development and Knowledge Translation (Canadian Pharmacists Association)
  • Pierre Poirier, Executive Director (Paramedic Association of Canada)
  • Dr. Barry Power, Senior Director, Digital Content (Canadian Pharmacists Association)
  • Dr. Margaret Tromp, President (Society of Rural Physicians of Canada)
  • Dr. Cornelia Wieman, President (Indigenous Physicians Association of Canada)
Wednesday, May 13, 2020 at 11:32 AM
  • Colleen Barnes, Vice-President, Policy & Programs Branch (Canadian Food Inspection Agency)
  • Josée Bégin, Director General, Labour Market, Education and Socio-Economic Well-Being
  • Nathalie Durand, Executive Director, Sector Development and Analysis Directorate, Market and Industry Services Branch (Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada)
  • Cindy Evans, Acting Vice-President, Emergency Management (Public Health Agency of Canada)
  • Ron Gravel, Director, Centre for Population Health Data
  • Lorenzo Ieraci, Director General, Office of Small and Medium Enterprises and Stakeholder Engagement (Public Services and Procurement Canada)
  • Theresa Iuliano, Vice-President, Operations Branch (Canadian Food Inspection Agency)
  • Karen Mihorean, Director General, Census Subject Matter, Social Insights, Integration and Innovation (Statistics Canada)
  • Michael Mills, Associate Assistant Deputy Minister, Procurement Branch (Public Services and Procurement Canada)
  • Dr. Howard Njoo, Deputy Chief Public Health Officer (Public Health Agency of Canada)
  • Pierre Sabourin, Assistant Deputy Minister, Health Products and Food Branch (Health Canada)
  • Carla St. Croix, Executive Director, Strategic Integration and Competitiveness Policy, Strategic Policy Branch (Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada)
  • Kendal Weber, Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic Policy Branch (Health Canada)
Audio only
Audio only
Meeting notice
Meeting notice