Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Agriculture and Forestry

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16

Chair: The Honourable GHISLAIN MALTAIS

Tuesday, October 4, 2016
Thursday, October 6, 2016

Issue No. 16

Consideration of a draft agenda (future business)


First and second meetings:

Government response to the Ninth Report of the Standing Senate Committee on Agriculture and Forestry, entitled: The Importance of Bee Health to Sustainable Food Production in Canada, tabled and adopted in the Senate on May 28, 2015


Tuesday, October 4, 2016

Canadian Honey Council:

Kevin Nixon, President.

Canadian Seed Trade Association:

Todd Hyra, Second Vice-President;

Dave Carey, Manager, Government Affairs and Policy.

CropLife Canada:

Dennis Prouse, Vice President, Government Affairs;

Pierre Petelle, Vice President (Chemistry).

Grain Farmers of Ontario:

Markus Haerle, Vice Chair.

Thursday, October 6, 2016

Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada:

Andrea Johnston, Director General, Sector Development and Analysis Directorate, Market and Industry Services Branch;

Dr. Stephen F. Pernal, Ph.D., Research Scientist and Officer-in-Charge, Beaverlodge Research Farm, Science and Technology Branch.

Health Canada:

Scott Kirby, Director, Environmental Assessment Directorate, Pest Management Regulatory Agency.

Canadian Food Inspection Agency:

Dr. Jaspinder Komal, Executive Director and Deputy Chief Veterinary Officer, Animal Health Directorate.


The Honourable Ghislain Maltais, Chair

The Honourable Terry M. Mercer, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

        Beyak, *Carignan, P.C. (or Martin), Dagenais, Gagné, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare), Merchant, Ogilvie, Oh, Plett, Pratte, Tardif, Unger

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Oh replaced the Honourable Senator Tkachuk (October 5, 2016).

The Honourable Senator Tkachuk replaced the Honourable Senator Oh (October 3, 2016).