Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Agriculture and Forestry

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17-18-19

Chair: The Honourable DIANE F. GRIFFIN

Monday, February18, 2019
Tuesday, February19, 2019
Thursday, February21, 2019

Issue No. 61

Twenty-second and twenty-third meetings:
Study on how the value-added food sector can be more competitive in global markets

Fourth, fifth and sixth meetings:
Examine and report on issues relating to agriculture and forestry generally

(Feast or Famine: Impacts of climate change and carbon pricing on agriculture, agri-food and forestry)


Monday, February18, 2019

Chicken Farmers of Canada:

Tim Klompmaker, Board Director, Ontario;

Yves Ruel, Director of Trade and Policy.

Canadian Hatching Egg Producers:

Jack Greydanus, Chair;

Salomon Compaore, Economist.

Turkey Farmers of Canada:

Phil Boyd, Executive Director.

Egg Farmers of Canada:

Emmanuel Destrijker, Executive Member;

Judi Bundrock, Director of International Trade Policy.

Tuesday, February19, 2019

Farm Products Council of Canada:

Mike Pickard, Vice-Chairman;

Carole Gendron, Director of Regulatory and Sectoral Affairs.

Canadian Dairy Commission:

Serge Riendeau, Chief Executive Officer;

Benoît Basillais, Director, Policy and Economics.

As an individual:

Sylvain Charlebois, Professor in Food Distribution and Policy, Faculty of Agriculture, Dalhousie University.

Canada West Foundation:

Martha Hall Findlay, President and Chief Executive Officer.

Agri-Food Economic Systems:

Al Mussell, Research Lead.

Thursday, February21, 2019

Canadian Federation of Agriculture:

Ron Bonnett, President.

Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada:

Tom Rosser, Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic Policy Branch;

Frédéric Seppey, Assistant Deputy Minister, Market and Industry Services Branch.

Global Affairs Canada:

Doug Forsyth, Director General, Market Access.


The Honourable Diane F. Griffin, Chair

The Honourable Ghislain Maltais, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Bernard, Black (Alberta), Black (Ontario), Dagenais, *Day (or Mercer), Deacon (Nova Scotia), Doyle, Gagné, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare) (or Mitchell), Mercer, Miville-Dechêne, Oh, *Smith (or Martin), *Woo (or Saint- Germain)

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule12-5 and to the orders of the Senate of November7, 2017 and of November20, 2018, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Deacon (Nova Scotia) replaced the Honourable Senator Ravalia (February20, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Ravalia replaced the Honourable Senator Deacon (Nova Scotia) (February19, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Bernard replaced the Honourable Senator Wallin (December6, 2018).