Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Agriculture and Forestry

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17-18-19

Chair: The Honourable DIANE F. GRIFFIN

Tuesday, May 28, 2019
Thursday, May 30, 2019 (in camera)

Issue No. 67

Second meeting:
Subject matter of those elements contained in Subdivision C of Division 9 of Part 4, insofar as it relates to food, and in Subdivision J of Division 9 of Part 4 of Bill C-97, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on March 19, 2019 and other measures

Thirtieth meeting:
Study on how the value-added food sector can be more competitive in global markets

(Bill C-281, An Act to establish a National Local Food Day, with amendments)


Tuesday, May 28, 2019

Grain Growers of Canada:

Jeff Nielsen, President.

Canadian Federation of Agriculture:

Frank Annau, Environment and Science Policy Advisor.

CropLife Canada:

Dennis Prouse, Vice-President, Government Affairs.

Canadian Environmental Law Association:

Kathleen Cooper, Senior Researcher.

Health Canada:

Jason Flint, Director General, Policy, Communications and Regulatory Affairs Directorate, Pest Management Regulatory Agency.


The Honourable Diane F. Griffin, Chair

The Honourable Donald Neil Plett, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Bernard, Dagenais, *Day (or Mercer), Deacon (Nova Scotia), Doyle, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare) (or Mitchell), Kutcher, Mercer, Miville-Dechêne, Moodie, Oh, Ravalia, *Smith (or Martin), *Woo (or Saint-Germain)

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the orders of the Senate of November 7, 2017 and of November 20, 2018, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Ravalia replaced the Honourable Senator Black (Ontario) (May 29, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Dagenais replaced the Honourable Senator Manning (May 28, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Manning replaced the Honourable Senator Dagenais (May 28, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Miville-Dechêne replaced the Honourable Senator Cormier (May 17, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Oh replaced the Honourable Senator Smith (May 16, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Doyle replaced the Honourable Senator Housakos (May 16, 2019).