Skip to content
SOCI - Standing Committee

Social Affairs, Science and Technology

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Social Affairs, Science and Technology

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17


Wednesday, October 18, 2017
Thursday, October 19, 2017

Issue No. 30

First and second meetings:
Bill C-277, An Act providing for the development of a framework on palliative care in Canada


Wednesday, October 18, 2017

Marilyn Gladu, Member of Parliament for Sarnia–Lambton, sponsor of the bill.

Pallium Canada:

Dr. Jose Pereira, Scientific Officer;

Gerald Savoie, Board Chair.

Canadian Hospice Palliative Care Association:

Sharon Baxter, Executive Director (by video conference).

Thursday, October 19, 2017

Canadian Nurses Association:

Carolyn Pullen, Director, Policy, Advocacy and Strategy.

Canadian Society of Palliative Care Physicians:

Dr. J. David Henderson, President.

Canadian Geriatrics Society:

Dr. Frank Molnar, President.


Jennifer Kitts, Director of Policy and Strategy;

Dr. Jill Rice, Interim Medical Chief, Department of Palliative Medicine, Bruyère Continuing Care.

Ontario Long Term Care Association:

Candace Chartier, Executive Chair.


The Honourable Kelvin Kenneth Ogilvie, Chair

The Honourable Art Eggleton, P.C., Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Cordy, Cormier, Day, Dean, Doyle, Eaton, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare), Hartling, Mégie, Omidvar, Petitclerc, Poirier, Seidman, *Smith (or Martin), Stewart Olsen

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the order of the Senate of December 7, 2016, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Doyle replaced the Honourable Senator Boisvenu (October 19, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Poirier replaced the Honourable Senator Dagenais (October 19, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Boisvenu replaced the Honourable Senator Frum (October 18, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Eaton replaced the Honourable Senator Neufeld (October 18, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Dagenais replaced the Honourable Senator Raine (October 18, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Cordy was added to the membership (October 18, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Jaffer was removed from the membership of the committee, substitution pending (October 5, 2017).

Back to top