Skip to content
SOCI - Standing Committee

Social Affairs, Science and Technology

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Social Affairs, Science and Technology

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17-18-19

Chair: The Honourable CHANTAL PETITCLERC

Wednesday, May 8, 2019
Thursday, May 9, 2019

Issue No. 59

First and second meetings:
Bill C-83, An Act to amend the Corrections and Conditional Release Act and another Act


Wednesday, May 8, 2019

The Honourable Ralph Goodale, P.C., M.P., Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness.


Wednesday, May 8, 2019

Public Safety Canada:

Angela Arnet Connidis, Director General, Crime Prevention, Corrections and Criminal Justice Directorate.

Correctional Service Canada:

Anne Kelly, Commissioner;

Jennifer Wheatley, Assistant Commissioner, Health Services.

Alain Tousignant, Senior Deputy Commissioner;

Kelley Blanchette, Deputy Commissioner for Women.

Department of Justice Canada:

Juline Fresco, Counsel;

Dan Moore, Counsel, Human Rights Law Section.

Thursday, May 9, 2019

Canadian Association of Elizabeth Fry Societies:

Diana Majury, President.

John Howard Society of Canada:

Catherine Latimer, Executive Director.

Canadian Civil Liberties Association:

Michael Rosenberg, Counsel.

British Columbia Civil Liberties Association:

Josh Paterson, Executive Director (by video conference).

As individuals:

Allan Manson, Professor Emeritus, Queen's University;

Debra Parkes, Professor and Chair in Feminist Legal Studies, Peter A. Allard School of Law, University of British Columbia (by video conference).


The Honourable Chantal Petitclerc, Chair

The Honourable Judith G. Seidman, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Dasko, *Day (or Mercer), Eaton, Forest-Niesing, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare) (or Mitchell), Kutcher, Manning, Mégie, Munson, Oh, Omidvar, Pate, Poirier, *Smith (or Martin), *Woo, (or Saint-Germain)

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the orders of the Senate of November 7, 2017 and of November 20, 2018, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Kutcher replaced the Honourable Senator Deacon (Ontario) (May 8, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Pate replaced the Honourable Senator Ravalia (May 7, 2019).

Back to top