Please enable Javascript
Skip to Content
The Impact Assessment Act in the Senate
June 7, 2019
NEWS

Bill C-69, An Act to enact the Impact Assessment Act and the Canadian Energy Regulator Act, to amend the Navigation Protection Act and to make consequential amendments to other Acts, has changed the approval processes for large-scale resource development projects, including pipeline construction.

The bill, as amended by the Senate, received Royal Assent on June 21, 2019. It had been studied by the Senate Committee on Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources, which reported the bill with amendments on May 28, 2019. The report was adopted in the Senate on May 30, 2019.

The bill contains three parts. Part 1 enacts the Impact Assessment Act. Part 2 enacts the Canadian Energy Regulator Act. Part 3 amends and renames the Navigation Protection Act.

 

PROGRESS THROUGH PARLIAMENT

Image of the progress bar

RESOURCES: How a bill becomes a law Glossary of key Senate terms

DEBATE ON A MESSAGE RECEIVED FROM THE HOUSE OF COMMONS


Thursday, June 20, 2019
WATCH READ

Monday, June 17, 2019
WATCH READ

THIRD READING


Thursday, June 6, 2019
WATCH READ

Tuesday, June 4, 2019
WATCH READ

Monday, June 3, 2019
WATCH READ

FIRST AND SECOND READING


Wednesday, December 12, 2018
LISTEN READ

Friday, December 7, 2018
LISTEN READ

Tuesday, November 27, 2018
LISTEN READ

Thursday, November 8, 2018
LISTEN READ

Wednesday, November 7, 2018
LISTEN READ

Wednesday, October 31, 2018
LISTEN READ

Tuesday, October 30, 2018
LISTEN READ

Wednesday, October 24, 2018
LISTEN READ

Tuesday, October 23, 2018
LISTEN READ

Thursday, October 4, 2018
LISTEN READ

Wednesday, September 26, 2018
LISTEN READ

Tuesday, September 18, 2018
LISTEN READ

Wednesday, June 20, 2018
LISTEN READ

 

ENEV - Senate Committee on Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources

Bill C-69 was referred to the Senate Committee on Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources after it was adopted at second reading in the Senate on Wednesday, December 12, 2018.

The committee reported the bill with amendments on May 28, 2019.

Thursday, May 16, 2019
WATCH READ

Tuesday, May 14, 2019
WATCH READ

Monday, May 13, 2019
WATCH READ

Thursday, May 9, 2019
WATCH READ

Tuesday, May 7, 2019
WATCH READ

Thursday, May 2, 2019
WATCH READ

Tuesday, April 30, 2019
WATCH READ

Monday, April 29, 2019
WATCH READ

Friday, April 26, 2019 (afternoon meeting)
READ

Friday, April 26, 2019 (morning meeting)
READ

Thursday, April 25, 2019 (afternoon meeting)
READ

Thursday, April 25, 2019 (morning meeting)
READ

Wednesday, April 24, 2019 (afternoon meeting)
READ

 

Wednesday, April 24, 2019 (morning meeting)
READ

Tuesday, April 23, 2019 (afternoon meeting)
READ

Tuesday, April 23, 2019 (morning meeting)
READ

Friday, April 12, 2019 (afternoon meeting)
READ

Friday, April 12, 2019 (morning meeting)
READ

Thursday, April 11, 2019 (afternoon meeting)
READ

Thursday, April 11, 2019 (morning meeting)
READ

Wednesday, April 10, 2019 (afternoon meeting)
READ

Wednesday, April 10, 2019 (morning meeting)
READ

Tuesday, April 9, 2019 (afternoon meeting)
READ

Tuesday, April 9, 2019 (morning meeting)
READ

Monday, April 8, 2019 (afternoon meeting)
READ

Monday, April 8, 2019 (morning meeting)
READ

Thursday, April 4, 2019
WATCH READ

Tuesday, April 2, 2019
WATCH READ

Monday, April 1, 2019
WATCH READ

Thursday, March 21, 2019
WATCH READ

Tuesday, March 19, 2019
WATCH READ

Thursday, February 28, 2019
WATCH READ

Tuesday, February 26, 2019
WATCH READ

Thursday, February 21, 2019
WATCH READ

Tuesday, February 19, 2019
WATCH READ

Thursday, February 7, 2019
WATCH READ

Wednesday, February 6, 2019
WATCH READ