Please enable Javascript
Skip to Content
The Impact Assessment Act in the Senate
The Impact Assessment Act in the Senate
February 14, 2019
NEWS

Bill C-69, An Act to enact the Impact Assessment Act and the Canadian Energy Regulator Act, to amend the Navigation Protection Act and to make consequential amendments to other Acts, is legislation that would have implications for approval processes for large-scale resource development projects, including pipeline construction.

The bill is being studied by the Senate Committee on Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources; it was adopted at second reading in the Senate on December 12, 2018. It was adopted in the House of Commons on June 20, 2018.

The bill contains three parts. Part 1 would enact the Impact Assessment Act. Part 2 would enact the Canadian Energy Regulator Act. Part 3 would amend and rename the Navigation Protection Act.

 

PROGRESS THROUGH PARLIAMENT

Image of the progress bar for the bill

RESOURCES: How a bill becomes a law Glossary of key Senate terms

FIRST AND SECOND READING


Wednesday, December 12, 2018
READ LISTEN

Friday, December 7, 2018
READ LISTEN

Tuesday, November 27, 2018
READ LISTEN

Thursday, November 8, 2018
READ LISTEN

Wednesday, November 7, 2018
READ LISTEN

Wednesday, October 31, 2018
READ LISTEN

Tuesday, October 30, 2018
READ LISTEN

Wednesday, October 24, 2018
READ LISTEN

Tuesday, October 23, 2018
READ LISTEN

Thursday, October 4, 2018
READ LISTEN

Wednesday, September 26, 2018
READ LISTEN

Tuesday, September 18, 2018
READ LISTEN

Wednesday, June 20, 2018
READ LISTEN

 

ENEV - Senate Committee on Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources

Bill C-69 was referred to the Senate Committee on Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources after it was adopted at second reading in the Senate on Wednesday, December 12, 2018.

Thursday, March 21, 2019
WATCH

Tuesday, March 19, 2019
WATCH

Thursday, February 28, 2019
WATCH

Tuesday, February 26, 2019
WATCH

Thursday, February 21, 2019
WATCH

Tuesday, February 19, 2019
WATCH

Thursday, February 7, 2019
WATCH

Wednesday, February 6, 2019
WATCH