Skip to Content

On-Reserve Housing and Infrastructure: Recommendations for Change

Photo Construction of new school in Membertou First Nation, Nova Scotia
Photo Construction of new school in Membertou First Nation, Nova Scotia

Scroll down

Arrow pointing down

About the Study

The Standing Senate Committee on Aboriginal Peoples began its study on housing and infrastructure in November 2013. Over the course of the study, the Committee heard from over 80 witnesses representing individual First Nations, tribal councils, First Nations organizations, financial institutions, private sector organizations, and federal government departments and agencies. The Committee visited 16 First Nations communities from Nova Scotia, Quebec, Ontario and British Columbia. In February 2015, the Committee tabled an interim report on housing which identified key issues related to housing on reserve.

Housing in many First Nations communities in a state of crisis

In many First Nations communities, the housing situation is in a state of crisis. It is widely acknowledged that there is a serious housing shortage on reserve, estimated at between 35,000 and 85,000 units across the country. Overcrowding is one of the results of the housing shortage. The Committee has heard that it is not unusual for up to 18 people to live in a small bungalow. Equally troubling is the poor condition of existing homes in many communities. Housing on reserve deteriorates more quickly than housing off-reserve for a number of reasons, including the use of poor quality building materials, lack of enforceable building codes, overcrowding, and insufficient funds and support to manage and maintain housing. An estimated 37% of housing units on reserve are in need of major repairs.

Photo of houses

Barriers to private market housing on reserve

Not all First Nations communities experience the housing crisis to this extent. Several First Nations have a long-standing tradition of private home ownership. In some cases, this may be attributed to revolving loan funds established by First Nations communities to provide financing to members. Other communities are benefiting from economic development, and have individuals wanting to purchase their own homes on reserve. However, building housing on reserve is different from building housing off-reserve. Restrictions in the Indian Act prevent the use of property as collateral, making it difficult for individuals to obtain mortgages. Another barrier to constructing housing in some First Nations communities is the lack of serviceable lots. Limited infrastructure funding makes it difficult for many First Nations communities to put in place the necessary infrastructure - such as roads, water, and sewer services - which need to be in place in order to build new homes.

Photo of new housing developments need basic infrastructure such as streets, water, sewers and electricity (Eskasoni First Nation, Nova Scotia)
Photo of housing construction in We Wai Kai First Nation in British Columbia is inspected by city inspectors

Innovation needed for financing infrastructure on reserve

Visiting First Nations communities, the Committee saw first-hand the magnitude of the infrastructure deficit on reserve - over-flowing sewage lagoons and communities with boil-water advisories which had been in place for over a decade. Witnesses suggested that addressing the infrastructure deficit on reserve will cost between $3-8 billion. Rather than being financed over time, infrastructure on reserve is largely paid for up-front by Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC). The Committee heard that federal funding for housing and infrastructure on reserve is insufficient to meet community needs, therefore requiring innovative approaches. However, on reserve there are fewer financing options available to address this deficit. The Committee explored innovative approaches to financing infrastructure on reserve, including leveraging own source revenues and property taxes through bonds, ministerial loan guarantees, and public private partnerships.

Summary of Recommendations

  • Removing the 2% cap on annual increases on funding for on-reserve programs and services from Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC);
  • Providing adequate funding and greater flexibility in the Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation’s On-Reserve Non-Profit Housing Program (also known as the Section 95 program);
  • Making it possible for First Nations to hire qualified housing managers through designated funding as part of AANDC’s Band Support Funding Program ;
  • Moving toward the implementation and enforcement of building codes in First Nations communities;
  • Assessing the adequacy of the shelter allowance component of the Income Assistance Program and addressing the regional discrepancies in the application of that program;
  • Developing a housing strategy for remote and isolated First Nations communities; including a review the adequacy of the remote and isolation index;
  • Simplifying the process for First Nations members to access mortgages backed by a Ministerial Loan Guarantee and expanding the program to allow First Nations governments to access a Ministerial Loan Guarantee;
  • Evaluating the First Nations Market Housing Fund (FNMHF) and reinforcing its capacity development component;
  • Simplifying the process for First Nations to be scheduled to the First Nations Land Management Act (FNLMA);
  • Exploring the possibility, in consultation with First Nations, of developing opt-in legislation which could facilitate private property ownership for First Nations members living on reserve;
  • Creating a new ministerial loan guarantee program to help finance infrastructure on-reserve;
  • Facilitating First Nations’ access to “Indian Moneys” which, as currently required by the Indian Act, are held in trust for First Nations in the Consolidated Revenue Fund;
  • Providing support for First Nations to develop long term comprehensive community plans which could help them plan for the future.

Senators who participated in this study

Photo of Senator Patterson

Chair
Dennis Glen Patterson
C — (Nunavut)

Photo of Senator Dyck

Deputy Chair
Lillian Eva Dyck
Lib — (Saskatchewan)

Photo of Senator Beyak

Lynn Beyak
C — (Ontario)

Photo of Senator Enverga

Tobias C. Enverga Jr.
C - (Ontario)

Photo of Senator Lovelace Nicholas

Sandra Lovelace Nicholas
C - (New Brunswick)

Photo of Senator Moore

Wilfred P. Moore
Lib. - (Stanhope St. / South Shore, Nova Scotia)

Photo of Senator Ngo

Thanh Hai Ngo
C - (Ontario)

Photo of Senator Raine

Nancy Greene Raine
C - (Thompson – Okanagan – Kootenay, British Columbia)

Photo of Senator Sibbeston

Nick G. Sibbeston
Lib. - (Northwest Territories)

Photo of Senator Tannas

Scott Tannas
Lib. - (Alberta)

Ex-officio members of the committee:
The Honourable Senators Claude Carignan, P.C. (or Yonah Martin) and James S. Cowan (or Joan Fraser)

Other Senators who have participated from time to time in the study:
The Honourable Senators Salma Ataullahjan, Douglas Black, Pierre-Hugues Boisvenu, Andrée Champagne, P.C., Jane Cordy, Don Meredith, Jim Munson, Victor Oh, Bob Runciman, Carolyn Stewart Olsen, John D. Wallace and Charlie Watt.

Contact information

General Information:
613-990-0088 or 1-800-267-7362

Email: appa@sen.parl.gc.ca

Mailing Address:
Standing Senate Committee on Aboriginal Peoples
The Senate of Canada
Ottawa, Ontario
Canada, K1A 0A4

Passer au contenu

Le logement et l’infrastructure dans les réserves : Recommandations de changements

Photo de construction d’une école, Première Nation de Membertou, Nouvelle-Écosse
Photo de construction d’une école, Première Nation de Membertou, Nouvelle-Écosse

faire dÉfiler vers le bas

Flèche pointant vers le bas

À propos de l’étude

Le Comité sénatorial permanent des peuples autochtones a entrepris son étude sur le logement et l’infrastructure en novembre 2013. Dans le cadre de son étude, le Comité a entendu plus de 80 témoins représentant des collectivités des Premières Nations, des conseils tribaux, des organisations autochtones, des institutions financières, des entités du secteur privé et des ministères et organismes fédéraux. Il s’est rendu dans 16 collectivités des Premières Nations en Nouvelle-Écosse, au Québec, en Ontario et en Colombie-Britannique. En février 2015, le Comité a déposé un rapport provisoire sur le logement qui cernait les principaux problèmes de logement dans les réserves.

La situation du logement est critique dans de nombreuses collectivités des Premières Nations

La situation du logement est critique dans de nombreuses collectivités des Premières Nations. L’existence d’une grave pénurie de logements dans les réserves est largement reconnue. Selon les estimations, il manque entre 35 000 et 85 000 logements à l’échelle du pays. La pénurie de logements conduit notamment au surpeuplement. Le Comité a appris qu’il arrive souvent que jusqu’à 18 personnes s’entassent dans un petit bungalow. L’état lamentable des maisons existantes dans de nombreuses collectivités est tout aussi troublant. Le logement dans les réserves se détériore plus rapidement que le logement ailleurs pour diverses raisons, dont l’emploi de matériaux de construction de piètre qualité, l’absence de codes du bâtiment obligatoires, le surpeuplement et l’insuffisance de fonds et de soutien pour gérer et entretenir les logements. On estime à 37 % la proportion des logements dans les réserves qui nécessitent des travaux de réparation majeurs.

Photo de maisons

Obstacles aux logements du marché dans les réserves

La crise du logement n’est pas aussi aiguë dans certaines collectivités des Premières Nations. Au sein de plusieurs Premières Nations, l’accession à la propriété est une tradition de longue date. Dans certains cas, celle-ci est attribuable à des fonds de crédit renouvelables établis par les collectivités des Premières Nations pour offrir du crédit à leurs membres. D’autres collectivités bénéficient du développement économique, de sorte que des particuliers souhaitent acheter leur propre maison dans la réserve. Par contre, la construction de logements est différente dans les réserves et à l’extérieur de celles-ci. Des restrictions prévues dans la Loi sur les Indiens interdisent d’affecter des biens en garantie, de sorte que l’obtention d’une hypothèque est difficile. Autre obstacle à la construction de logements dans les collectivités des Premières Nations : l’absence de terrains aménagés. En raison d’un financement d’infrastructure limité, beaucoup de collectivités des Premières Nations ont du mal à mettre en place les infrastructures – telles que les routes, les adductions et les égouts – que nécessite la construction de nouvelles maisons.

Photo de la construction d’ensembles résidentiels requiert une infrastructure essentielle comme des rues, un réseau d’aqueduc et d’égout et l’électricité (Première Nation d’Eskasoni, Nouvelle-Écosse)
Photo des collectivités des Premières Nations, comme la Première Nation Tsarlip en Colombie-Britannique, doivent reporter des rénovations nécessaires par manque de financement

Le financement de l’infrastructure dans les réserves passe par l’innovation

Lorsqu’il s’est rendu dans des collectivités des Premières Nations, le Comité a constaté de visu l’ampleur du déficit infrastructurel dans les réserves – les étangs d’épuration débordants et des collectivités obligées de faire bouillir l’eau depuis plus de 10 ans. De l’avis de certains témoins, cela coûtera de 3 à 8 milliards de dollars pour remédier au déficit infrastructurel dans les réserves. Plutôt que d’en étaler le financement dans le temps, Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) paie immédiatement une grande partie de l’infrastructure dans les réserves. Des témoins ont dit au Comité que le financement fédéral pour le logement et l’infrastructure dans les réserves n’est pas suffisant pour répondre aux besoins des collectivités, de sorte que des approches novatrices s’imposent. Or, les solutions de financement sont moins nombreuses dans les réserves. Le Comité a examiné des modes de financement novateurs de l’infrastructure dans les réserves, comme l’optimisation des revenus autonomes et de l’impôt foncier au moyen d’obligations, les garanties d’emprunt ministérielles et les partenariats publics-privés.

Sommaire des recommandations

  • Supprimer le facteur d’indexation annuelle de 2 % du financement des programmes et services dans les réserves d’Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC);
  • Allouer des fonds suffisants et une souplesse accrue au Programme de logement sans but lucratif dans les réserves de la Société canadienne d’hypothèques et de logement (le programme prévu à l’article 95);
  • Fournir des fonds au titre du programme de financement du soutien des bandes d’AADNC pour que les Premières Nations puissent embaucher des gestionnaires de logement qualifiés;
  • Préparer l’application et le contrôle de l’observation des codes du bâtiment dans les collectivités des Premières Nations;
  • Évaluer si l’allocation-logement du Programme d’aide au revenu est suffisante et veiller à ce qu’elle soit appliquée de manière uniforme dans les régions;
  • Élaborer une stratégie de logement pour les collectivités des Premières Nations éloignées et isolées, et examiner en particulier l’indice d’éloignement et d’isolement;
  • Simplifier l’obtention par les membres des Premières Nations d’hypothèques assurées par les garanties d’emprunt ministérielles et élargir le programme des garanties d’emprunt ministérielles afin que les gouvernements des Premières Nations y aient accès;
  • Évaluer le Fonds pour les logements du marché destinés aux Premières Nations et en renforcer le volet de renforcement des capacités;
  • Simplifier le processus d’adhésion des Premières Nations au régime de la Loi sur la gestion des terres des premières nations;
  • Étudier, en consultation avec les Premières Nations, la possibilité d’élaborer une loi à adhésion facultative qui pourrait faciliter l’accession à la propriété privée pour les membres des Premières Nations vivant dans les réserves;
  • Créer un nouveau programme de garanties d’emprunt ministérielles pour contribuer au financement de l’infrastructure dans les réserves;
  • Faciliter l’accès des Premières Nations à l’« argent des Indiens » qui, aux termes de la Loi sur les Indiens, est détenu en fiducie au Trésor;
  • Fournir un appui aux Premières Nations pour l’élaboration de plans communautaires globaux à long terme qui pourraient les aider à préparer l’avenir.

Sénateurs ayant participé à cette étude

Photo de sénateur Patterson

Président
Dennis Glen Patterson
C — (Nunavut)

Photo de sénateur Dyck

Vice-présidente
Lillian Eva Dyck
Lib — (Saskatchewan)

Photo de sénateur Beyak

Lynn Beyak
C — (Ontario)

Photo de sénateur Enverga

Tobias C. Enverga Jr.
C - (Ontario)

Photo de sénateur Lovelace Nicholas

Sandra Lovelace Nicholas
C - (Nouveau-Brunswick)

Photo de sénateur Moore

Wilfred P. Moore
Lib. - (Stanhope St. / South Shore, Nouvelle-Écosse)

Photo de sénateur Ngo

Thanh Hai Ngo
C - (Ontario)

Photo de sénateur Raine

Nancy Greene Raine
C - (Thompson – Okanagan–Kootenay, Colombie-Britannique)

Photo de sénateur Sibbeston

Nick G. Sibbeston
Lib. - (Territoires du Nord-Ouest)

Photo de sénateur Tannas

Scott Tannas
Lib. - (Alberta)

Membres d’office du comité :
Les honorables sénateurs Claude Carignan, C.P. (ou Yonah Martin) et James S. Cowan (ou Joan Fraser)

Autre sénateurs ayant participé de temps à autre à cette étude :
Les honorables sénateurs Salma Ataullahjan, Douglas Black, Pierre-Hugues Boisvenu, Andrée Champagne, P.C., Jane Cordy, Don Meredith, Jim Munson, Victor Oh, Bob Runciman, Carolyn Stewart Olsen, John D. Wallace et Charlie Watt.

Coordonnées du comité

Pour de plus amples renseignements :
613-990-0088 or 1-800-267-7362

Courriel : appa@sen.parl.gc.ca

Adresse postale :
Comité sénatorial permanent des peuples autochtones
Le Sénat du Canada
Ottawa, Ontario
Canada, K1A 0A4