Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Foreign Affairs

First Session, Thirty-eighth Parliament, 2004-05

Chair: The Honourable PETER A. STOLLERY

Tuesday, May 10, 2005
Wednesday, May 11, 2005

Issue No. 14

Nineteenth and twentieth meetings on:

Special study on Africa


Wednesday, May 11, 2005

H.E. Mr. Amadou Toumani Touré, President of the Republic of Mali

The Honourable Aileen Carroll, P.C., M.P., Minister of International Cooperation


Tuesday, May 10, 2005

Canadian Council for International Co-operation:

Gerry Barr, President-CEO.

Partnership Africa Canada:

Ian Smilie, Research Coordinator.

As individuals:

Peter R. Kieran, President, CPCS Transcom;

George Ayittey, Professor, Economics, American University.

Wednesday, May 11, 2005

Republic of Mali:

H.E. Mr. Moctar Ouane, Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation;

H.E. Ms. Fanta Sylla, Minister of Justice and Keeper of the Seals;

H.E. Mr. Ousmane Thiam, Minister of Investment Promotion, Small and Medium-Sized Enterprises and Government Spokesperson;

H.E. Mr. Badi Ould Ganfoud, Minister of Civil Service, State Reform and Relations with Institutions.

Canadian International Development Agency:

Ric Cameron, Senior Vice-President;

Paul Hunt, Vice-President — Africa Branch.

World Bank:

Marcel Massé, Executive Director.


The Honourable Peter A. Stollery, Chair

The Honourable Consiglio Di Nino, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Andreychuk, *Austin, P.C., (or Rompkey, P.C.), Carney, P.C., Corbin, De Bané, P.C., Downe, Eyton, Grafstein, *Kinsella, (or Stratton), Mahovlich, Prud'homme, P.C., Robichaud, P.C.

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)