Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

Second Session, Thirty-ninth Parliament, 2007-08

Chair: The Honourable GERRY ST. GERMAIN, P.C.

Wednesday, May 28, 2008

Issue No. 15

First meeting on:

Bill C-30, An Act to establish the Specific Claims Tribunal and to make consequential amendments to other acts


The Honourable Chuck Strahl, P.C, M.P., Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development and Federal Interlocutor for Métis and Non-Status Indians


Indian and Northern Affairs Canada:

Lynne Partel, Acting Executive Director, Specific Claims Reform Initiative;

Robert Winogron, Senior Counsel, Justice Canada.

Assembly of First Nations:

Phil Fontaine, National Chief;

Candice Metallic, Legal Counsel, National Chief's Office;

Tonio Sadik, Senior Policy Planning Officer.

As an individual:

Bryan Schwartz, Asper Professor of International Business and Trade Law, Faculty of Law, University of Manitoba;

British Columbia Assembly of First Nations:

Shawn Atleo, Regional Chief.


The Honourable Gerry St. Germain, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Nick G. Sibbeston, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Campbell, Dallaire, Dyck, Gill, Gustafson, *Hervieux-Payette, P.C. (or Tardif), Hubley, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau), Lovelace Nicholas, Peterson, Segal

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Back to top