Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

Third Session, Fortieth Parliament, 2010

Chair: The Honourable GERRY ST. GERMAIN, P.C.

Tuesday, November 2, 2010
Wednesday, November 3, 2010

Issue No. 13

Twenty-fourth meeting on:

The federal government's constitutional, treaty, political and legal responsibilities to First Nations, Inuit and Metis peoples and other matters generally relating to the Aboriginal Peoples of Canada
(Issues concerning First Nations Education)


Third meeting on:

The progress made on commitments endorsed by Parliamentarians of both Chambers since the Government's apology to former students of Indian Residential Schools.


Tuesday, November 2, 2010

University of Saskatchewan:

Sheila Carr-Stewart, Professor, Department Head and Graduate Chair, Department of Educational Administration, College of Education;

Marie Battiste, Professor and Director, Aboriginal Education Research Centre.

Tuesday, November 3, 2010

Congress of Aboriginal Peoples:

Betty Ann Lavallée, National Chief.


The Honourable Gerry St. Germain, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Lillian Eva Dyck, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Ataullahjan, Brazeau, Campbell, *Cowan (or Tardif), Dallaire, Demers, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau), Lovelace Nicholas, Poirier, Raine, Sibbeston, Stewart Olsen

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Ataullahjan replaced the Honourable Senator Patterson (November 3, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Campbell replaced the Honourable Senator Peterson (November 2, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Sibbeston replaced the Honourable Senator Fairbairn, P.C. (November 2, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Peterson replaced the Honourable Senator Campbell (November 1, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Fairbairn, P.C., replaced the Honourable Senator Sibbeston (November 1, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Poirier replaced the Honourable Senator Neufeld (October 28, 2010).

Back to top