Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Human Rights

First Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2011-12

Chair: The Honourable MOBINA S. B. JAFFER

Monday, October 22, 2012
Monday, October 29, 2012

Issue No. 17

Eleventh meeting on:

Issue of cyberbullying in Canada with regard to Canada's international human rights obligations
under Article 19 of the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child

First meeting on:

Issues pertaining to the human rights of First Nations band members who reside off-reserve, with an emphasis on the current federal policy framework


Monday, October 29, 2012

Statistics Canada:

Jane Badets, Director General, Census Subject Matter, Social and Demographic Statistics;

Cathy Connors, Assistant Director, Social and Aboriginal Statistics.

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada:

Josée Touchette, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Policy and Strategic Direction Sector;

Françoise Ducros, Assistant Deputy Minister, Education and Social Development Programs and Partnerships Sector;

Brenda Kustra, Director General, Governance Branch, Regional Operations Sector;

Allan Tallman, Indian Registrar.

Justice Canada:

Al Broughton, General Counsel.

Human Resources and Skills Development Canada:

James Sutherland, Acting Director General, Aboriginal Affairs Directorate, Skills and Employment Branch.

Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation:

Debra Darke, Executive Director, Assisted Housing.

Health Canada:

Aruna Sadana, Acting Director General, Strategic Policy, Planning and Analysis, First Nations and Inuit Health Branch;

Scott Doidge, Acting Director General, Non-Insured Health Benefits Directorate, First Nations and Inuit Health Branch.

Public Health Agency of Canada:

Marla Israel, Acting Director General, Centre for Health Promotion, Health Promotion and Chronic Disease Prevention Branch.


The Honourable Mobina S. B. Jaffer, Chair

The Honourable Patrick Brazeau, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Ataullahjan, Carignan, *Cowan (or Tardif), Harb, Hubley, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Carignan), Ngo, White, Zimmer

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Carignan replaced the Honourable Senator Andreychuk (October 29, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Ataullahjan replaced the Honourable Senator Wallace (October 23, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Wallace replaced the Honourable Senator Ataullahjan (October 22, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Ngo replaced the Honourable Senator Meredith (October 1, 2012).