Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Human Rights

First Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2011-12-13

Chair: The Honourable MOBINA S. B. JAFFER

Monday, April 29, 2013
Monday, May 6, 2013

Issue No. 26

Fifth meeting on:

Issues of discrimination in the hiring and promotion practices of the Federal Public Service, to study the extent to which targets to achieve employment equity are being met, and to examine labour market outcomes for minority groups in the private sector

Sixth meeting on:

Issues relating to human rights and, inter alia, the review of the machinery of government dealing with Canada's international and national human rights obligations


Monday, April 29, 2013

Government of Canada:

George Da Pont, Employment Equity Champion for Visible Minorities (President, Canadian Food Inspection Agency);

Alan Latourelle, Employment Equity Champion for Aboriginal Federal Employees (CEO, Parks Canada);

Linda Lizotte-MacPherson, Employment Equity Champion for Federal Employees with Disabilities (President, Canada School of Public Service).

Public Service Alliance of Canada:

Robyn Benson, National President;

Seema Lamba, Human Rights Officer.

Professional Institute of the Public Service of Canada:

Al Ravjiani, Ontario Regional Director;

Ryan Campbell, Policy Analyst.

Monday, May 6, 2013

Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada:

Marie Gervais-Vidricaire, Director General, Stabilisation and Reconstruction Task Force;

Jim Junke, Director, Human Rights Policy Division.

National Defence:

Major-General Michael Day, Director General, International Security Policy.

Canadian International Development Agency:

Lilian Chatterjee, Director General, Thematic and Sectoral Policy, Strategic Policy and Performance Branch.

Pearson Centre:

Ann Livingstone, Vice-President, Research and Learning Design.

University of Winnipeg Global College:

Marilou McPhedran, Director, Institute for International Women's Rights.

International Civil Society Action Network:

Sanam Naraghi-Anderlini, Co-founder.

Initiative on Quiet Diplomacy:

Barry Parkinson, Associate.


The Honourable Mobina S. B. Jaffer, Chair

The Honourable Salma Ataullajan, Deputy Chair

The Honourable Senators:

Buth, *Cowan (or Tardif), Harb, Hubley, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Carignan), Ngo, Oh, White, Zimmer

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Ataullahjan replaced the Honourable Senator Unger (April 30, 2013).

The Honourable Senator Unger replaced the Honourable Senator Boisvenu (April 29, 2013).

The Honourable Senator Boisvenu replaced the Honourable Senator Ataullahjan (April 26, 2013).

The Honourable Senator Buth replaced the Honourable Senator Andreychuk (April 26, 2013).