Skip to content
TRCM - Standing Committee

Transport and Communications

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Transport and Communications

Second Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2013-14

Chair: The Honourable DENNIS DAWSON

Wednesday, October 29, 2014
Tuesday, November 4, 2014
Wednesday, November 5, 2014
Thursday, November 6, 2014

Issue No. 10

Twenty-third, twenty-fourth, twenty-fifth and twenty-sixth meetings:

Examine the challenges faced by the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation in relation to the changing environment of broadcasting and communications


Wednesday, October 29, 2014

Telefilm Canada:

Carolle Brabant, Executive Director, Canadian Heritage;

Jean-Claude Mahé, Director, Public and Governmental Affairs, Canadian Heritage;

Dave Forget, Director, Business Affairs and Certification, Canadian Heritage.

National Film Board of Canada:

Claude Joli-Coeur, Acting Government Film Commissioner and Chairperson of the National Film Board of Canada, Commissioner's Office;

Deborah Drisdell, Director General, Accessibility and Digital Enterprises.

Tuesday, November 4, 2014

Stingray Digital Group:

Éric Albert, Executive Vice-President.

Wednesday, November 5, 2014

As individuals:

Jean-François Lépine.

Syndicat des communications de Radio-Canada:

Isabelle Montpetit, President.

Tous Amis de Radio-Canada:

Pierre Maisonneuve, Spokesperson.

Syndicat des employé(e)s de bureau et professionnel(le)s de Radio-Canada:

Isabelle Doyon, Chair.

Syndicat des technicien(ne)s et artisan(e)s du réseau français de Radio-Canada:

Michel Labrie, National Vice-President.

Canadian Union of Public Employees:

Nathalie Blais, Research Advisor.

Galafilm Inc.:

Arnie Gelbart, Chief Executive Officer and Executive Producer.

As an individual:

Marc Raboy, Beaverbrook Chair in Ethics, Media and Communications, McGill University.

TV5 Québec Canada:

Suzanne Gouin, President and CEO;

Benoit Beaudoin, Director, New Media.

Thursday, November 6, 2014

Institute of Governance for Private and Public Organizations:

Michel Nadeau, Executive Director.

Quebec Community Groups Network:

Walter Duszara, Secretary;

Stephen Thompson, Director of Policy, Research and Public Affairs.

Townshippers' Association:

Gerald Cutting, President;

Rachel Hunting, Executive Director.

English Language Arts Network:

Guy Rodgers, Executive Director.

Confédération des syndicats nationaux:

Jacques Létourneau, President;

François Enault, Assistant to the Executive Committee.

Fédération nationale des communications:

Pascale St-Onge, Secretary-General.


The Honourable Dennis Dawson, Chair

The Honourable Leo Housakos, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

*Carignan, P.C. (or Martin), *Cowan (or Fraser), Demers, Greene, Hervieux-Payette, P.C., Joyal, P.C.,  MacDonald, Massicotte, Plett, Unger, Verner, C.P.

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Joyal, P.C., replaced the Honourable Senator Munson (November 4, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Massicotte replaced the Honourable Senator Eggleton, P.C. (November 4, 2014).

Back to top