Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Foreign Affairs and International Trade

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17-18-19

Chair: The Honourable A. RAYNELL ANDREYCHUK

Tuesday, April 9, 2019
Wednesday, April 10, 2019
Thursday, April 11, 2019

Issue No. 61

Forty-eighth and forty-ninth meetings:
Study on foreign relations and international trade generally

First meeting:
Bill C-85, An Act to amend the Canada-Israel Free Trade Agreement Implementation Act and to make related amendments to other Acts


Tuesday, April 9, 2019

The Honourable Chrystia Freeland, P.C., M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs.


Tuesday, April 9, 2019

Global Affairs Canada:

Mark Gwozdecky, Assistant Deputy Minister, International Security and Political Affairs;

Heather Jeffrey, Assistant Deputy Minister, Consular, Security and Emergency Management;

Steve Verheul, Assistant Deputy Minister, Trade Policy and Negociations.

Wednesday, April 10, 2019

Global Affairs Canada:

Troy Lulashnyk, Director General, North Africa, Israel and Palestinian Territories;

Mary-Catherine Speirs, Director, Trade Policy and Negotiations (Europe, Middle East and Africa);

Stacy-Paul Healy, Deputy Director, Market Access and Trade Remedies Law.

Thursday, April 11, 2019

Global Affairs Canada:

Heather Jeffrey, Assistant Deputy Minister, Security and Emergency Management;

Reid Sirrs, Director General, Security and Emergency Management, Departmental Security Officer.


The Honourable A. Raynell Andreychuk, Chair

The Honourable Paul J. Massicotte, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Ataullahjan, Boehm, Bovey, Busson, Cordy, Cormier, Coyle, Dawson, *Day (or Mercer), Dean, Greene, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare) or Mitchell), Housakos, Ngo, Tannas, *Smith (or Martin), *Woo (or Saint-Germain)

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the orders of the Senate of November 7, 2017 and of November 20, 2018, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Massicotte replaced the Honourable Senator Cormier (April 11, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Cormier replaced the Honourable Senator Massicotte (April 10, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Ataullahjan replaced the Honourable Senator Tannas (April 10, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Tannas replaced the Honourable Senator Ataullahjan (April 8, 2019).