Please enable Javascript
Skip to Content
Meet Canada’s newest senators 2019
December 6, 2019

The following passages are adapted from the new senators’ introductions in the Senate Chamber.

Senator Tony Loffreda is sworn in as a senator on December 5, 2019, as Senator Marc Gold, Senator Peter Harder and Interim Clerk of the Senate Richard Denis look on.

Senator Tony Loffreda

An accomplished businessman, Senator Tony Loffreda brings more than 35 years of experience in the finance sector to his new role in the Red Chamber.

As vice-chairman of Royal Bank of Canada Wealth Management, Senator Loffreda co-chaired more than 100 initiatives that benefitted communities and people in need. He represents the division of Shawinegan in Quebec. 

Sworn in on December 5, 2019.


Senators Peter Harder and A. Raynell Andreychuk welcome Senator Pat Duncan, centre, to the Senate of Canada on February 19, 2019.

Senator Pat Duncan

Senator Pat Duncan has dedicated her time to serving her community in the Yukon through business, public service and as a volunteer.

In 2002, she was awarded the Queen Elizabeth II Golden Jubilee Medal in recognition of her dedication to serving the public.

Sworn in on February 19, 2019.


Senator Murray Sinclair, left, and Senator Peter Harder welcome Senator Margaret Dawn Anderson to the Senate after her swearing-in ceremony on February 19, 2019.

Senator Margaret Dawn Anderson

As a devoted public servant, Senator Margaret Dawn Anderson has tackled community justice and domestic violence issues in the Northwest Territories, and helped develop a program in the justice system that integrated treatment of mental health, addictions and cognitive challenges.

She is also a two-time recipient of the territorial Premier’s Award for Excellence for her leadership and commitment to her community.

Sworn in on February 19, 2019.


Senator Peter Harder smiles as Senator Ratna Omidvar hugs recently sworn-in Senator Rosemary Moodie on February 19, 2019.

Senator Rosemary Moodie

Senator Rosemary Moodie is a neonatologist and professor of pediatrics from Ontario. Her work in the medical field has helped reduce social inequities for children and communities in Canada and abroad.

In recognition of her work, she has been awarded the Order of Distinction — Commander Rank from the Government of Jamaica and the Prix d’excellence — Specialist of the Year from the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada.

Sworn in on February 19, 2019.


Senators Jane Cordy and Peter Harder join newly sworn-in Senator Stan Kutcher outside the Senate Chamber on February 19, 2019.

Senator Stan Kutcher

Senator Stan Kutcher is a professor of psychiatry from Nova Scotia and is one of the leading experts in adolescent mental health.

He is well-known for developing a national child and youth mental health framework in Canada called Evergreen.

Internationally, he is renowned for his unique approach to youth mental health by including mental health literacy and mental health care in schools.

Sworn in February 19, 2019.