Financial Reports

As part of its commitment to transparency, efficiency and accountability, the Senate of Canada (Senate) adopted a new proactive disclosure model effective July 1, 2016. This model provided more details and uniformity in the quarterly disclosure of senators’ expenses and supplemented the information available in Public Accounts. The proactive disclosure reports are published within 60 days of the end of each fiscal quarter.

Following the adoption of Bill C-58, An Act to amend the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act and to make consequential amendments to other Acts, the Senate’s proactive disclosure reports were modified to comply with changes to the Access to Information Act, beginning with the reporting period starting April 1, 2020. The quarterly proactive disclosure now includes additional details on travel expenses of Senators to carry out parliamentary functions, along with Committee travel and hospitality expenses, and all Senate Administration employee travel and hospitality expenses.

In addition, the disclosed expenses continue to include expenditures and contracts for senators, Senate House Officers, and the Facilitator and Leaders of recognized groups. Senate Administration contracts worth $10,000 or more also continue to be disclosed.

The model does not include expenses incurred during parliamentary association business, which are disclosed by the House of Commons. A link is available in the Committees / International and Interparliamentary Affairs (IIA) tab.

Senators’ Proactive Disclosure Expenditures Report

Parliament, through the Parliament of Canada Act and appropriation acts, provides resources to the Senate. The Senate allocates resources to senators — such as office space, furnishings and equipment — and gives senators budgets so they can employ staff, hire contractors and purchase office supplies. The Senate also reimburses senators for travel, accommodation and other related approved expenses incurred while carrying out their parliamentary functions.

The Senate Administrative Rules and other policies govern senators in their use of Senate resources, which are to be used for the sole purpose of carrying out their parliamentary functions. Senators are accountable for their decisions and actions related to the use of these resources. The Senate has rules and policies that govern which expenditures can be reimbursed and a robust financial management framework to ensure that only legitimate and reasonable expenses are paid. Senate resources may not be used for partisan matters that are non-parliamentary in nature such as nomination campaigns or election campaigns.

Parliamentary functions are defined in the Senate Administrative Rules as “duties and activities related to the position of a senator, wherever performed, including public and official business and partisan matters, but excluding activities related to the election of a member of the House of Commons during an election under the Canada Elections Act; or the private business interests of a senator or a member of a senator’s family or household.”

The senators’ proactive disclosure expenditures report is divided into five sections:

  • Office Expenses (excluding salary and benefits);
  • Hospitality Expenses;
  • Living Expenses in the Parliamentary District;
  • Travel Expenses incurred to carry out parliamentary functions;
  • Contract(s) Awarded.

In addition, the Senators Other tab discloses senator travel expenses paid from the Administration budget (rather than from the senator’s travel budget), such as language training.

Only senators living outside of the Parliamentary District have access to the living expenses budget. All senators are eligible for meal allowances when they sit in the Chamber or on a committee past 7 p.m.

Expenditures are disclosed in the quarter during which they were processed and paid by the Senate Administration, which may not be necessarily the same quarter in which the senator incurred the expense.

Expenses of House Officers, Facilitator, and Leaders of recognized groups

House Officers, the Facilitator, and Leaders of recognized groups are provided an additional budget to cover expenses required to fulfill their duties.

Starting April 1, 2017, the budget of the Senate House Officers and the Facilitator have been consolidated with their respective office budgets. As such, the Office Expenses, Hospitality Expenses and all Contract(s) Awarded for Senators who are also House Officers, the Facilitator, and, as of January 1, 2020, the Leaders of recognized groups, are disclosed under the Senate House Officers and Facilitator tab. However, please note that the Living Expenses and Travel Expenses to carry out parliamentary functions continue to be disclosed under the Senators tab.

Senate Administration Expenses

In order to function as a modern, efficient and effective institution, the Senate requires administrative and procedural support. This is provided by senior officers of the Senate Administration who form the Executive Committee, as well as all Administration employees who support them. The Senate Administration provides services that allow senators to accomplish their work by offering support in procedure, security, financial administration, human resources, communications, building maintenance, asset management and information technology resources.

The expenses disclosed under this category reflect those incurred by all employees of the Senate Administration, including the members of the Executive Committee, and are divided into two categories of expenses:

  • Hospitality Expenses;
  • Travel Expenses.

Expenses for travel and hospitality are displayed using a model similar to the one used for senators.

Senate Administration Contracts

The Senate Administration discloses both new and amended contracts worth $10,000 or more. The Senate Procurement Policy provides the requirements for procurement transactions and processes are in place to ensure their compliance.

Transparence et responsabilité / Rapports financiers

Rapports financiers

Dans le cadre de son engagement envers la transparence, l'efficacité et la reddition de comptes, le Sénat du Canada a adopté un nouveau modèle de divulgation proactive en vigueur depuis le 1er juillet 2016. Ce modèle offrait alors plus de détails et d'uniformité dans la divulgation trimestrielle des dépenses des sénateurs et complétait les informations disponibles dans les Comptes publics. Les rapports de divulgation proactive sont publiés dans les 60 jours suivant la fin de chaque trimestre.

À la suite de l'adoption du projet de loi C-58, Loi modifiant la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et d'autres lois en conséquence, les rapports de divulgation proactive du Sénat ont été modifiés pour se conformer aux changements à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, à compter du trimestre commençant le 1er avril 2020. La divulgation proactive trimestrielle comprend maintenant des détails supplémentaires sur les frais de voyage des sénateurs pour exercer leurs fonctions parlementaires, ainsi que les frais de voyage et d'accueil des comités et toutes les dépenses de voyage et d’accueil des employés de l’administration.

Par ailleurs, les dépenses divulguées comprennent toujours les dépenses et les contrats des sénateurs, des agents supérieurs, et du facilitateur et des leaders des groupes reconnus. Les contrats de l'administration du Sénat ayant une valeur de 10 000 $ et plus sont également toujours divulgués.

Le modèle ne comprend pas les frais engagés pour les affaires des associations parlementaires qui sont divulgués par la chambre des communes. Toutefois, un lien est disponible sous l’onglet Comités / Affaires internationales et interparlementaires (AII).

Rapport de divulgation proactive des dépenses des sénateurs

Le Parlement, par la Loi sur le Parlement du Canada et des lois portant octroi de crédits, fournit des ressources au Sénat. Ce dernier alloue certaines de ces ressources aux sénateurs, comme un espace de bureau, du mobilier et du matériel, ainsi qu’un budget pour leur permettre d’embaucher du personnel et des entrepreneurs, et d’acheter des fournitures de bureau. En outre, le Sénat rembourse les dépenses engagées par les sénateurs pour leurs déplacements et leur logement, ainsi que les frais connexes admissibles encourus dans l’exercice de leurs fonctions parlementaires.

Le Règlement administratif du Sénat et d’autres politiques régissent l’utilisation que font les sénateurs des ressources du Sénat. Un des principes fondamentaux veut que les sénateurs n’utilisent les ressources du Sénat que dans le cadre de leurs fonctions. Les sénateurs sont tenus de rendre compte de leurs décisions et de leurs actes liés à l’utilisation de ces ressources. Le Sénat a des règles et des politiques qui régissent quelles dépenses peuvent être remboursées. De plus, un solide cadre de gestion des finances permet d’assurer que seules les dépenses légitimes et raisonnables ne soient payées. Les ressources du Sénat ne peuvent pas être utilisées pour des affaires partisanes et non parlementaires, comme les campagnes d’investiture et les campagnes électorales.

Le Règlement administratif du Sénat, définit les fonctions parlementaires comme des « obligations et activités se rattachant à la charge de sénateur, où qu’elles soient exécutées, y compris les engagements publics et officiels et les questions partisanes. Ne sont pas comprises dans les fonctions parlementaires, les activités liées, selon le cas : à l’élection d’un député à la Chambre des communes sous le régime de la Loi électorale du Canada; ou aux intérêts commerciaux privés d’un sénateur ou d’un membre de sa famille ou de son ménage »

Le rapport de divulgation proactive des dépenses des sénateurs est divisé en cinq sections :

  • dépenses de bureau (excluant salaires et avantages sociaux);
  • frais d'accueil;
  • frais de subsistance dans la région du Parlement;
  • frais de voyage payés pour des fonctions parlementaires;
  • contrat(s) octroyé(s);

Seuls les sénateurs vivant à l’extérieur de la région du parlement ont accès au budget de subsistance. Toutefois, tous les sénateurs ont droit à des indemnités de repas les soirs où ils siègent en Chambre ou à un comité après 19 heures.

De plus, l’onglet Sénateurs autres présente les frais de déplacement des sénateurs payés à partir d’un budget de l'administration (plutôt que du budget de voyage du sénateur), notamment pour de la formation linguistique.

Les dépenses sont divulguées dans le trimestre au cours duquel elles sont traitées et payées par l’Administration du Sénat, qui n’est pas nécessairement le même trimestre au cours duquel le sénateur a engagé la dépense.

Dépenses des agents supérieurs, du facilitateur et des leaders des groupes reconnus

Les agents supérieurs, le facilitateur et les leaders des groupes reconnus ont à leur disposition un budget supplémentaire pour couvrir les dépenses nécessaires pour remplir leurs fonctions additionnelles.

Depuis le 1er avril 2017, les budgets des agents supérieurs, et facilitateur ont été consolidés avec leur budget de bureau respectif, de sorte que les Dépenses de bureau et les Frais d’accueil engagés, ainsi que les Contrat(s) octroyé(s) par les agents supérieurs, le facilitateur et, depuis le 1er janvier 2020, les leaders des groupes reconnus, sont divulgués sous l’onglet Agents supérieurs et Facilitateur. Cependant, veuillez noter que les Frais de subsistance ainsi que les Frais de voyage payés en relation avec les activités parlementaires continuent d’être divulgués sous l’onglet Sénateurs.

Dépenses de l’administration du Sénat

Afin d’être une institution moderne, efficace et performante, le Sénat doit pouvoir compter sur un soutien administratif et procédural. Celui-ci lui est fourni par les cadres supérieurs de l’administration du Sénat qui forment le comité exécutif, ainsi que par tout le personnel administratif qui les supporte. L’administration du Sénat fournit des services qui permettent aux sénateurs d’accomplir leur travail, en offrant un soutien en matière de procédure, de sécurité, d’administration financière, de ressources humaines, de communications, d’entretien des immeubles, de gestion des biens et de technologies de l’information.

Les dépenses figurant dans cette catégorie reflètent celles encourues par tous les membres du personnel, incluant les membres du Comité exécutif, de l'administration du Sénat, et sont divisées en deux catégories :

  • frais d’accueil ;
  • frais de voyage.

Les frais de voyage et d’accueil sont affichés en utilisant un modèle similaire à celui utilisé pour les sénateurs.

Contrats de l’administration du Sénat

L’Administration du Sénat divulgue les nouveaux contrats et les amendements ayant une valeur de 10 000 $ et plus. La Politique du Sénat sur l'approvisionnement établie les exigences en matière d’activités d’approvisionnement et des processus d’affaires sont en place afin d’assurer leur respect.