Please enable Javascript
Skip to Content
Meet Canada’s newest senators 2018
Meet Canada’s newest senators 2018
June 21, 2018

The following passages are adapted from the new senators’ introductions in the Senate Chamber.

Senator Colin Deacon, centre, is sworn in inside the Senate Chamber on Friday, June 15, 2018, as Senators Peter Harder and Percy Downe look on.

Senator Colin Deacon, Nova Scotia

Senator Colin Deacon is an innovative thinker whose entrepreneurial background will make him a valuable asset in Canada’s Upper Chamber. The Nova Scotian has spent his career turning ideas into products and services that make life better for Canadians.

In 2009, he founded BlueLight Analytics, a company that aimed to improve restorative dentistry. Until 2006, he served as CEO of SpellRead, which improved reading skills among children, adults and seniors, and which was one of Atlantic Canada’s fastest-growing companies. Senator Deacon has also contributed to the charitable sector in Halifax, where he has been an active member on the board of many organizations dedicated to children’s health and well-being. He brings to the Senate his passion for civic engagement, creativity and ingenuity.

Sworn in on June 15, 2018.


New Senator Donna Dasko, centre, is joined by senators Ratna Omidvar and Peter Harder after her swearing-in ceremony on Thursday, June 7, 2018.

Senator Donna Dasko, Ontario

Senator Donna Dasko joined the Senate after advocating for gender equality in Canada’s upper house in her role as co-founder of the Campaign for an Equal Senate of Canada in 2015. A respected national pollster and media commentator, Senator Dasko has also championed women’s rights while serving on the board of directors of the Women’s Legal Education and Action Fund and as former national chair of Equal Voice.

She has served as vice-president of Environics Research Group, one of Canada’s leading research firms. Senator Dasko is currently a fellow at the University of Toronto’s School of Public Policy and Governance and teaches courses in its master’s program.

Sworn in on June 7, 2018.


Senator Pierre Dalphond is sworn in by Clerk of the Senate Richard Denis on Thursday, June 7, 2018 as Senator Murray Sinclair, left, and Senator Peter Harder look on.

Senator Pierre Dalphond, Quebec

Senator Pierre Dalphond has devoted more than 30 years of his life to the public service as a lawyer, educator and former senior judge with the Court of Appeal of Quebec. The Oxford University-educated mediator and arbiter has given numerous talks in Canada and abroad on legal issues and has been honoured for his work in educating young lawyers. He received the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal in 2012.

Senator Dalphond brings considerable knowledge of Parliament and the upper chamber to the Senate, as well as his expertise in Canadian law.

Sworn in on June 7, 2018.


Senator Mohamed-Iqbal Ravalia, centre, is sworn in as senators Kim Pate and Peter Harder look on.

Senator Mohamed-Iqbal Ravalia, Newfoundland and Labrador

Senator Mohamed-Iqbal Ravalia brings a wealth of experience in health policy to the Senate as a long-time family physician from Newfoundland and Labrador.

His journey to Atlantic Canada is a familiar one to many Canadians. He left civil unrest in his native Zimbabwe in 1984 to seek a better life for his family and to continue his career in healthcare. His years of dedicating his life to the well-being of others and educating the next generation of doctors has earned him a number of honourable distinctions, including the Order of Canada in 2015, for his contributions to rural medicine. In 2004, he was also recognized as Family Physician of the Year by the College of Family Physicians of Canada. His areas of expertise include primary care reform and chronic disease management.

Sworn in on June 4, 2018.


Senator Marty Deacon (centre) joins the Senate, flanked by Senator Peter Harder (left) and Senator Chantal Petitclerc (right).

Senator Marty Deacon, Ontario

Senator Marty Deacon is keen to work on issues she is passionate about: the environment, international affairs and Indigenous peoples. In her career as an educator, Senator Deacon was a teacher, school principal, consultant, academic and superintendent.

As a badminton athlete, Senator Deacon has what it takes to succeed. She is quick on her feet, has stamina and, most of all, understands the importance of team work. Between her career as an educator and her activities as an athlete and coach, Senator Deacon has also represented Canada on many national and international executive boards.

Sworn in on March 20, 2018.


Senator Yvonne Boyer (centre), joined by Senator Peter Harder (right) and Senator Murray Sinclair (left), is welcomed into the Senate Chamber.

Senator Yvonne Boyer, Ontario

Senator Yvonne Boyer brings to the Senate a wealth of experience as a lawyer, professor, health-care professional and researcher. She has made her mark fighting inequities to improve the delivery of health-care services to Indigenous peoples.

Senator Boyer has dedicated herself to equality and justice for Indigenous peoples. As a lawyer, she is known for her collaborative approach. In her law practice, Senator Boyer worked to find solutions for clients by striving for a blend of approaches, both Western and Indigenous. She also has the distinction of being Ontario’s first Indigenous senator.

Sworn in on March 20, 2018.


Senator Robert Black (centre), joined by Senator Peter Harder (right) and Senator Frances Lankin (left), is sworn into the Senate.

Senator Robert Black, Ontario

Senator Robert Black devoted himself to the public good as a provincial government official, a municipal politician and as the head of and a volunteer at many community organizations.

He has deep roots in the rich agricultural region of southwestern Ontario. He has spent his career ensuring that rural issues get the attention they deserve, from serving on boards to leadership roles with the Ontario Soybean Growers and the Centre for Rural Leadership.

Of special note is the decades-long leadership of Senator Black within 4-H, an organization almost as old as the Senate of Canada, which has championed rural causes and developed leadership amongst children and youth.

Sworn in on February 27, 2018.